36 Days of Type Designs

by Julie Scaria

Julie.Scaria
3 min readMay 1, 2019

36 days of type is a project held every year that invites designers, illustrators, and graphic artists to express their own interpretation of alphabets and numbers.

It is an open platform for designers across the globe where they are challenged to explore their creativity and interpret each alphabet and number in their own style.

2019 is the 6th edition of the event and #36daysoftype06 has collaborated with @adobe and @adobedesigners to celebrate the art of type. In addition, on May 8, a panel of six international judges would select the most unique, creative or innovative letterform submissions and six winners would be awarded a one-year Creative Cloud subscription.

For more info about the event, read here: 36-days-of-type

36 Days of Type started as a personal project by graphic designers Nina Sans and Rafa Goicoechea. They decided to challenge themselves to create something new every day. Since then, Nina and Rafa continued creating new designs and hence came up with this idea to hold this event every year in order to inspire the world to push its creative boundaries.

The “36” days consists of the 26 letters of the Latin alphabet (A–Z), plus ten single-digit numerals (0–9). Anyone can design their own letterforms at their own pace following the calendar days.

To join the festivities, simply share your letterforms on social media using the hashtags #36daysoftype + #36days_[LETTER/NUMBER]. For example, on the first day, the hashtag is #36days_A.

36 Days of Type Calendar: Edition 06

This year starting from April 2, for the next 36 days, every designer, illustrator and graphic artist is invited to showcase their own creative take on the letterform and share it with the world.

Hence, I decided to participate in this event too.

While I was contemplating on what to design, I was also busy making my vacation plans for the year 2019. My bucket list was full of places I’d love to travel across the world. Often I would see pictures of the best cities in the world on my Instagram feed and my head already starts wandering in those lanes. Sometimes, I imagine myself walking past those beautiful gardens and lanes enjoying their cuisines and making new friends. The thought itself gives me immense satisfaction.

This project turned out to be quite exciting for me because while I was doing my research about these cities, I gained so much information.
I got vast information about the culture in each of these countries and read about famous landmarks in the cities.

Few cities that I visited through my designs are shown below:-

#36Days_D: Dubai, United Arab Emirates | Check out my complete work on my Instagram page: https://www.instagram.com/creative_within/

After completing 26 alphabets, I thought of exploring new ideas to create the numerals 0–9 and it was perfect timing since The Avengers: End Game was about to release on 26th April 2019.

Therefore, being an ardent fan myself, I decided to create my own version of The Avengers through typography as a small tribute to Marvel.

#36Days_2: The Incredible Hulk
#36Days_3: Thor
#36Days_4: Captain America

Hope this article will inspire more designing aspirants like me to participate in such events and explore their hidden talent.

** Check out my complete work on my Instagram page: https://www.instagram.com/creative_within/

--

--